In the summer of 2000 we began working with the band Wilco and their management on a plan to help them use the Internet to reach more fans for the follow up to their critically acclaimed album Summer Teeth; when all hell broke loose during the making of release of their 4th studio album Yankee Hotel Foxtrot – as has been well documented in both Sam Jones’ film I Am Trying to Break Your Heart and Greg Kot’s book Learning How to Die.

On September 18, 2001 we launched wilcoworld.net with a QuickTime stream of the entire YHF album – eight months before it’s commercial release in May of 2002. Despite experts pontificating that the band had devalued the album by giving it away online – the record debuted at #13 in the charts, sold 56,000 copies in its first week and became the band’s first gold record – going on to sell more than one million records worldwide.

In 2003 the band received the WIRED Rave Award from WIRED Magazine for the innovative use of the web and technology.

Over the next ten years we had the pleasure of working with the band, management, crew, record companies, photographers, partners and even the President of the United States on a wide range of projects including:

  • The design and development of wilcoworld.net, jefftweedy.net, glennkotche.com, theautumndefense.com.
  • The design and development of the Roadcase – digital media player, archive and tour database.
  • The development of the Wilco photo archives.
  • The online marketing and interactive media for:
    • Yankee Hotel Foxtrot (2002) – #13 chart debut
    • A Ghost is Born (2004) – #8 chart debut
    • Kicking Television – Live (2005)
    • Sky Blue Sky (2007) – #4 chart debut
    • Ashes of American Flags – Tour DVD (2009)
    • Wilco (the Album) (2009) – #4 chart debut
    • Solid Sound Festival (2010)
  • The design and development of the Wilco iPhone App (2009)
  • Live webcasting of dozens of shows including:
    • Live from the 9:30 in Washington DC
    • Live from the Paradiso in Amsterdam
    • Live from the Riviera in Chicago
    • Live from the Greek Theatre in Berkeley
    • Live from the Madison Opera House